2020 In the News

Second round of CARES funding open to applicants

MARYVILLE, Mo. — A second round of CARES Act funding through the county is opening to businesses that did not receive funds the first time around, Collector-Treasurer Marilyn Jenkins has announced.

A grant process for civic organizations will also be opened.

Both applications are due back to Jenkins’ office by Tuesday, Sept. 15.

More information is available at nodawaycountymo.us.

County clerk provides Aug. 4 election info

MARYVILLE, Mo. — Nodaway County Clerk Melinda Patton has announced that all registered voters who will need to vote using an absentee ballot due to absence or illness on election day Nov. 3, may do so in the following ways.

To receive a mail-in ballot, a voter must either submit a request in writing by email, mail or fax and include: name, address, mailing address if different, signature, date of birth, the last four digits of his or her Social Security number and the absentee reason; call the office for an absentee application or find one online at nodawaycountymo.us; or vote in person from 8 a.m. to noon, Tuesday, Sept. 22 through Monday, Nov. 2 in the clerk’s office in the Nodaway County Administration Center, 403 N. Market St. Room 211. Voters must bring proper identification, such as a driver’s license, non-driver’s license, passport, voter ID card etc.

The final day to mail an absentee ballot to a voter is Wednesday, Oct. 21. For more information about the election, contact Patton at 660-582-2251.

NRCS to offer $75M in emergency funds for flood-prone lands

The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service has set an Oct. 9 deadline to apply for Emergency Watershed Protection Program-Floodplain Easement. The NRCS has also announced an additional $75 million for funding conservation easements on certain lands damaged by flooding or other natural disasters.

The program focuses on restoring damage that occurred in the 2018-2019 calendar years as well as other natural disasters. Eligible applicants agree to sell a permanent conservation easement to the United States through NRCS. Compensation is based on the value of the easement as determined by an appraisal or market analysis. These easements may occur on public or private agricultural land or residential properties damaged by flooding and natural disaster. NRCS will work to restore the easement to it natural floodplain condition.

According to a news release, 83 Missouri counties are currently identified for funding and include the following: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, Douglas, Dunklin, Gasconade, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howard, Howell, Jackson, Jasper, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, New Madrid, Newton, Nodaway, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Scott, Shannon, Shelby, St. Charles, St. Clair, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Individuals and communities in the 83 counties are encouraged to contact their local NRCS field offices for more information on these floodplain easement opportunities.

Follow us onTwitter@TheDailyForum