MARYVILLE, Mo. — The Nodaway Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution held an awards recognition ceremony after the regular meeting on April 13, at the First United Methodist Church.

The theme of the American History contest was “The Women’s Suffrage Campaign.” The 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution was ratified in 1920 granting all American women the right to vote and hold elective office. Students were asked to imagine they were living in 1919 while the women’s suffrage campaigns were having an impact on Americans politically and socially, and to discuss the pros and cons of this new amendment.

The contest was open to Nodaway County students in the fifth through eighth grades.

Fifth-grader Elena Leonard and sixth-grader Hadley Cline, both of Horace Mann Laboratory School in Maryville, won first place in the contest.

Leonard received her winner certificate, bronze medal and monetary award. Cline was unable to attend, thus Elizabeth Brown accepted her medal and monetary award on her behalf. All students entering the contest received participation certificates.

Also at the ceremony, each senior student selected as the “Good Citizen” from all seven of the Nodaway County high schools in the district received their certificates and pins. The DAR Good Citizens program and scholarship contest is intended to encourage and reward the qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism. All seniors are welcome to apply.

North Nodaway High School senior Makayla Cross elected to participate in the scholarship contest and was announced as the winner. She was presented with a certificate, pin and her scholarship monetary award. One of her requirements was to write an essay under supervision within a two-hour time limit. The theme was “Our American Heritage and Our Responsibility for Preserving it.”

Each of the winning students shared their essays with the audience. Regent Frances Harbin read Cline’s essay.

Following the student awards, Regent Harbin presented “Welcome Packets” to the three new Nodaway Chapter DAR members: Crystal Strade, new member; Holly Barnes and Sidney Cooper, transfer members from the closed Fairfax DAR Chapter. They were all welcomed with a round of applause.

Chapter membership certificates were presented by Regent Harbin as follows: 10 years for Barnes and 50 years for Cooper.

Hostesses for the ceremony were Jessie Smith, Irma Lee Wilson and Belva Dawson.

The award ceremony closed with everyone forming a circle and singing “God Bless America” led by Olive I. Smith, of Maryville.

Follow us onTwitter@TheDailyForum